God loves us despite our shortcomings

Good morning!

This morning I viewed Billy Graham’s latest telecast and it was beautiful. Even though I have heard the message of the cross presented in different ways and each beneficial, this latest broadcast presented Jesus in a way that made me feel as though this was the first time I have heard it.

The people who shared their personal struggles with sin and rebellion were very honest. I admire them for their honesty. This viewing this morning has helped me to recognize that even though I still make mistakes and can see that I fall quite short of God’s high standards, my hope lies in Jesus Christ. Jesus Christ loves us despite our shortcomings. I recently read that to become competent at a new skill takes time. I needed to be reminded of this even though it seems like simple common sense because sometimes in my enthusiasm and past success in learning new skills, I sometimes expect to be able to learn new skills quickly and proficiently. Learning to follow God’s ways is difficult and sometimes I feel like throwing in the towel because either the teachings convict me of sin or show me where I don’t measure up. It is important to remember that God still leads despite our shortcomings.

The people included in the passages of the Bible are portrayed with their great faith and also their sins. Reflected and important to understand is God’s forgiveness and love. Numerous times have I said to myself that I can’t do this. I have realized that it is not expected of me to be able to instantly measure up to God’s standards. My part is to be willing to follow and obey God’s leading. He will correct me when I am wrong. He will also show me the way that is right.

I encourage you to watch Billy Graham’s broadcast as it was so wonderfully made.

May God bless us with encouragement, strength and wisdom today, in Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a comment